Day 122 – The Importance of Networking

_Captain’s Log, StarDate 2007.11.06-21.33_

I’ve been thinking about my experiences at BarCampMontreal3 last weekend, and one of the things that keeps coming back to me is the importance of networking. I realized after attending BCM3 that you can be the best in your line of business/work/study, but it really doesn’t matter unless the people who matter know about it. And in this connected age, the phrase “people who matter” can be shortened to simply “everyone” – because you never know when, and from whom, the next big idea is going to come. The Internet is a great flattener, everybody is equally empowered now.

Thinking about all this also reminded me about a conversation I had with my good friend Ankur a few months back. Ankur has a very active social life, and tries his best to encourage me to have one as well. On that particular day, I was insisting that I have better things to do with my time than to socialize. And he said something that time whose importance was reiterated by my experience at BCM3 – that later in life, you will have even less time to socialize, but the contacts and friendships you make now are going to be there forever.

So I did something about that today…

Leave a Reply

