Day 090 – A Car Is Rented

_Captain’s Log, StarDate 2007.10.04-01.42_

While trying to figure out something for the camping, I’ve also been doing research on which car to rent. My first choice, of course, was a Subaru Impreza WRX STi. The nearest Impreza I could find for rent was in Whitehorse, which is so up north on the map of Canada I’m surprised they even drive cars there. I also stumbled across the predominantly French Montreal Subaru Club (MSC). One day I might also go visit Subaru de Laval, the nearest Subaru showroom (no rental, though).

My next choice was a convertible – any convertible. Apparently, they stop renting those out at the end of the summer here. Along with the BMWs, the VW Beetles, the Ford Mustangs and all other “specials”. I then tried for a Honda Civic, which is surprisingly not a very common car to be rented out here. Most rental agencies advertise only American brands. Another surprising fact is the general idea that Hyundais are cheaper to run than Hondas (this was told to me by someone who has worked for a car rental company). I find that quite surprising… more so because I’ve seen many, many more Hondas on the road than Hyundais. Ah, well. No Civic. Next on the list: any car with 2 doors, instead of 4. Unlikely, says the person on the other side of the phone. Ooohkaay then, any Japanse car. After much persuasion from the hotel’s front desk, someone finally says they’re going to try their best and send a Mazda 6 Sport, but no promises. Guess I’ll just have to wait and see…

Leave a Reply

