Day 081 – Clothes on Fire

_Captain’s Log, StarDate 2007.09.25-01.37_

I did the laundry today, but I think somebody put in extra coins in the dryer that I was using. After waiting for half an hour longer, I finally got fed up and opened the dryer. The clothes were in a mess and were so hot that they didn’t cool down in my room until an hour and a half later.

The extra time that I waited was not badly spent, though… I waited in the adjoining children’s room which has some really cool stuff in it – a blue rug on the floor, African animal wallpaper, a sky blue roof, and toys and games of various degrees of coolness 🙂 It reminded of the time when as a child I used to wait for my parents to come back from ballroom parties. It also reminded me of something that I tend to quote quite often:

“I’d give all the wealth that years have piled,
The slow result of life’s decay,
To be once more a little child
For one bright summer-day”

-Lewis Carroll, “Through the Looking Glass”

Leave a Reply

