Day 077 – WWI Bomber Jacket

_Captain’s Log, StarDate 2007.09.21_
The Shepherd

I got myself a World War I Bomber jacket today, complete with detachable sheepskin collars. I always knew I wanted something like that, but I wasn’t sure exactly what. Recently, I’ve been haunted by images from what is one of my most favourite stories of all time, Frederick Forsyth’s “The Shepherd”. It is the story of a Royal Air Force de Havilland DH.100 Vampire fighter pilot who finds himself lost at night in the winter sky above the Atlantic ocean, cut off from all means of help and navigation. The book is illustrated with classic images rendered in pencil that are sure to evoke feelings of deep emotion in anyone who is interested in aviation. I just can’t seem to get those pictures out of my mind. Even though the aircraft in the story is a WWII fighter, the moment I saw the WWI jacket, it somehow reminded me of the story. And so, I bought it.

Leave a Reply

