Day 058 – Niagara Falls and MarineLand

_Captain’s Log, StarDate 2007.08.02-01.33_

Ah, the incomparable Niagara Falls at last. The first thing that I noticed about it is that it is probably the most commerically exploited tourist destination in the world. The natural beauty of that place is probably the last thing on everybody’s mind. Niagara is more of a place people expect you to visit than a place you would like to visit.

Afterwards, we headed to MarineLand, an oceanarium/amusement park right next to Niagara Falls. The most interesting creatures we had the good fortune of seeing up close were the Killer Whales and the Beluga Whales. For those 3 hours that I was there, I felt like I was 10 years old again. I even bought myself some souvenir bathtub toys… if I had the space to carry back to India, I would probably have bought some soft toy dolphins and whales, too 🙂

After MarineLand, we started an 8-hour drive back to Montreal, with two stops in between at crowded fast-food joints at truck stops. I kept taking photos and videos of the amazing Canadian countryside till it got dark. We reached home late at night, although thanks to the tiring journey not all of us were in a state to remember how!

Leave a Reply

